32/100 Vengeance in Death by J. D. Robb

vengeance in deathThis is, as always. a wonderful novel.  I had read it quite a few years ago, when I first discovered J. D. Robb’s In Death series.  I started as a fan of Nora Roberts and to this day Robb and Evanovich are the only two Mystery authors that I am consistently fond of.  I really enjoyed going back to this early day of Eve Dallas and her life with Roarke.  I tried to read Naked in Death last year, wound up listening to it and not enjoying it as much as I would rather.  I have over 11 hours left in listening to Celebrity in Death, I find that I quite enjoy listening to something so far in the series and then reading one of these early novels.

Eve does not really believe in Vengeance.  She believes in justice, and that you don’t have to like someone to do the right thing.  I think this is why I like her so very much.  She is compassion even as she embodies justice and doesn’t let one get in the way of serving the other.  I love how tough Eve is, how stubborn Summerset is and how they begin to learn more about each-other.  The plot is good, the little digs about Catholicism are a bit annoying but honestly the Church has always been a good, easy target.  Let her write about a killer based on the teachings of another religion like Buddhism, Muslim, or even Baptists; just wait for the outrage to sound.  But two books (that I can remember) where the killer perverted the Catholic Church, well that’s alright.  I know, it sounds like whining, but the facts stand.  Other than that, if you don’t take all Catholics as mass murderers (and to be fair she wrote a book about Satanism too) then I really is a good book.  The plot is eventful and, well I don’t want to spoil it…but I felt sorry for the killer.  Hard to say, but true.  Happy Reading.

Leave a Reply

