31/101 Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

I found this book both asinine and thought provoking in turns.  On one hand you have the theory that we are simply a sum of our preconditioned responses and by controlling various aspects of our development, brain washing, as well as inducing chemical stupors all the while normalizing these behaviors we can completely control individuals.  On the other hand we have the concept that religion is an outdated construct that is only going to be held by savages in the future, actually upon reflection that is more along the lines of the first perspective.

I think that this is a gross oversimplification of a wide variety of complex topics.  I am also concerned that this is a trend that our society is aiming toward.   I think that a segment of our society is interested in ensuring that religion is considered an outdated concept only held by savages.  I would not read this book again, but I am pleased that I gave it a shot.

Happy Reading.

Leave a comment